Hand-quilting

So here’s what I’ve been up to this week: quilting!

IMG_4265
(artist’s rendering)

I basted everything on Sunday night & Monday morning, which took surprisingly long. Then I finally started quilting!

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of the actual quilting, it gets dark so early this time of year (today I was eating lunch while watching the sunset!) so I haven’t managed to take any.

Quilting is slow, a little faster than I anticipated, and definitely easier than I thought it would be! I found hand-quilting the tea cosy I made this summer to be physically quite difficult, it was often a struggle to get the needle through the layers. Now I realise that’s because I was usually quilting through the seam allowances, naturally it’s much easier when you’re only dealing with three layers. So phew, quilting this will be much easier and maybe even a little faster than I imagined, and it’s quite fun!

One thought on “Hand-quilting

Leave a Reply

